3 Stars (It was enjoyable)

Sex Says by Max Monroe

REVIEW – SEX SAYS by MAX MONROE

#BookSmackedReview #SexSays
reviews

My Rating – 3 Stars

mel-png

Sex Says by Max Monroe is an enemies to lovers book filled with comedy.
Lola Sexton comes head to head with her “enemy” Reed Luca. Lola is an eccentric individual, never one to conform to the rest of society. She lives life through her own terms and writes an dating and relationship advice column.  Reed Luca is similar in the fact that he too lives life on his own terms. They each are independent, stubborn, strong willed and what ensues is a battle of wits, minds.
I had difficulty getting into this book to be honest, something about the story just wasn’t gripping me and it took awhile for me to get invested in the storyline. I think for me it was Lola’s character that I couldn’t relate to, I found her quirkiness a bit too much. I will say that some of the banter between Lola and Reed was extremely entertaining. Reed so easily ruffled her feathers and those moments got quite a few chuckles out of me.
I will say that I did love Reed, he was smart, witty, and sweet. Both Reed and Lola’s families were also quite funny and had some hilarious moments. I liked when the two finally got together and even still did their verbal sparring back and forth. Their relationship become solid and complimentary and I think they needed each other, like they were meant to be. I did feel that there were some scenes in this book that weren’t necessary and perhaps took away a bit from the storyline for me. Particularly their one friend Simone, I didn’t see the point of her in this story to be honest and it didn’t feel as though she added any value.
This was an enjoyable read for me. Had I not had so much trouble getting invested into the two characters and their story, I would have probably enjoyed it more. I just had nothing stirring up any feelings for me until I was almost halfway through the book.

51t7pVVnMTL._SY346_.jpg

b1696-goodreads

blurb-png

Lola
My name is Lola Sexton, and I’m a sex addict.
Okay…that’s a lie.
Truth is, I’m a serial dater turned dating and relationship columnist for The San Francisco Times. My readers call me Sex. Sex Says.
I love my job.
I love my life.
And I hate Reed Luca.
**

Reed

My name is Reed Luca, and I’m a liar.
Ironically, that’s the truth.
I’m 31, and my occupation is…well, complicated.
My favorite kind of woman comes in all shapes and sizes, but always has a big brain.
I’ve never hated anything.
Lola Sexton hates me.
Luckily, it’s a thin line between love and hate, and with my help, pretty Lola will only be able to straddle that line for so long.

Leave a Reply

