5 STARS (OMFG LOVED IT)

Something In The Way ~ A Review

REVIEW – SOMETHING IN THE WAY by JESSICA HAWKINS

#BookSmackedReview #MelissasReviews
BookSmacked Review

five-stars

OH MY FUCK this Book !!!!

I had no clue what this book was about but the title hinted at what I thought would be a good read but it was more than that.

A forbidden love that would make most instantly cringe, scoff at, turn their noses and immediately condemn. But I fell I fell in love with it because it was just written so well you could feel the emotions even when they weren’t said,weren’t acted upon. But it was there impalpable.

A “villain” yup that’s what I’m fucking calling her. I wanted to rip her to shreds. I can’t even talk about it without wanting to throat punch someone. That selfish self absorbed bitch ass I could keep going here…

But Manning and Lake oh fuck these two. The innocence of Lake, the protectiveness of Manning.
From the get go I felt them right down to my bones. I wanted it I begged for it while reading this book. But man oh man nothing worthwhile comes easily and you need patience.

The slow buildup because it just had to be that way but you knew something was starting to burn. I knew it couldn’t happen I knew it had to wait. It was that wait that Oh god oh god the fluttery feelings that something could be happening but it’s too soon it’s not time but you want it to happen even though you know it shouldn’t not right now because the slow spark will end up becoming an inferno that could destroy so much. Fuck I know that’s vague but when you read this you will understand it.

And the ending oh gawd I’m fucked I need more I’m talking like I need my next breath. Fuck me I loved this book.

mel-png

514khyj8vFL

b1696-goodreads

Blurb

It was a hot summer day when I met him on the construction site next to my parents’ house. Under the sweat and dirt, Manning Sutter was as handsome as the sun was bright. He was older, darker, experienced. I wore a smiley-face t-shirt and had never even been kissed. Yet we saw something in each other that would link us in ways that couldn’t be broken…no matter how hard we tried.

I loved Manning before I knew the meaning of the word. I was too young, he said. I would wait. Through all the carefully-chosen words hiding what we knew to be true, through his struggle to keep me innocent, and through infinitely-starry nights–I would wait. But I’d learn that life isn’t always fair. That no matter how much you achieve, none of it matters if you suffer the heartbreak that comes with falling for someone you can never have. Because even though I saw Manning first, that didn’t matter. My older sister saw him next.

Book one in an epic, three-book saga of forbidden love. Book two releases May 2017.

1 thought on “Something In The Way ~ A Review”

Leave a Reply

