Author Spotlight

Kennedy Fox ~ Author Spotlight

cc.jpg

I first stumbled upon Kennedy Fox back in September of 2016.  Scrolling through facebook a cover of Checkmate: This Is War by Kennedy Fox caught my attention. Instantly I knew I wanted to read the book. I am one of those readers who will be drawn to a cover or a title and without hesitation want to read it without even knowing what the book is about. With Checkmate it was was not only the cover but the title that intrigued me. I signed up as a blogger to read and review it.

I fell in love with Checkmate: This Is War.  I am not sure that love is even appropriate because I actually obsessed over this book.  You can see my review of that book here: This Is War Review.

I immediately wanted to know more about Kennedy Fox and immediately did a search for them on Facebook. I didn’t know at the time but Kennedy Fox is a secret duo of two writers. Well let’s just had the interest I already had, shall we.

I am very vocal about a book or an author if their book grabs my attention. Some may even go so far as to call me a little cray cray. I am what one would call a FanGirl and I fan girled hard over Kennedy Fox. I become a Kennedy Fox groupie, stalker whatever term you want to use here works.

So who were these two authors that blew me away with their first book. I wanted to know more. I will start out by saying they are super nice and friendly as I did end up connecting with them through FB.  I have followed them since they first began their journey as the writing duo of Kennedy Fox. Since first discovering them they have published four books and are about to publish their fifth in just a few short days. So of course it goes without saying that I have read the other three books that they have published in their Checkmate Series and have absolutely loved them. Three out of their four published books have hit the USA Today Best Selling list and they continue to gain new fans and readers daily with their Checkmate Duets Series.

This duo has really made an impact on the reading world in such a short time and I wanted to know more about them. So naturally like a blogger/fangirl/follower/stalker would do I reached out to them again and asked if they would be willing to answer some questions I had. Of course, they said yes because they are just that sweet.

So here is my interview with the K from the writing duo of Kennedy Fox.

What is the first book that made you cry? Taking Chances by Molly McAdams

What is your writing Kryptonite? Coffee and candy

Have you ever gotten reader’s block? Yes! It sucks.

Why did you decide to write under a pseudonym? There’s something freeing about writing with no expectations, no pressure, and being anonymous. Both of us were at a point in our careers where we wanted to start over and decided to try it together!

Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want? I’d say it’s probably a little bit of both. Of course you want to make your readers happy, but you also have to be true to yourself and characters. We’ll outline a few chapters at a time and it never fails that one of us goes off path because that’s where the character took us.

Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book? Interconnecting but can stand alone

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be? INVEST in yourself. INVEST in a good designer, editor, PR. Believe in yourself because if you don’t than you can’t expect anyone else to.

How did publishing your first book change your process of writing? My VERY first book was written on a whim. Let’s just say I made a lot of mistakes and had to learn the hard way. (I had no idea there was even an indie community at that point)

What was the best money you ever spent as a writer? My house!

What did you do with your first advance? Since we’re self-published, we don’t get advances. However, one of my first big checks I used to pay off all my credit cards and it was the best feeling ever.

What’s your favorite under-appreciated novel? I can’t say since it’s under my other name 😉

How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have? Pff… dozen, at least.

What’s the best way to market your books? Be present and educate yourself on social media. Don’t be afraid to test things out such as Facebook ads, creating a professional website so you can direct people from your ads to an eye-appealing location.

What kind of research do you do, and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book? Depends on the book. I usually do research as it comes up in the writing process.

How long were you a part-time writer before you became a full-time one? One of us was always a full-time writer. The other half is part-time and is hoping to quit her outside job sometime in the near future!

How many hours a day do you write? It really varies. Especially if we’re on a deadline or if it’s during a release week. It’d be more precise to give a weekly average (assuming it’s not a release week). Probably about 20. I actually don’t sit down for hours at a time and write. I write sparingly when I feel inspired or after every one is in bed for the night.

Have you read anything that made you think differently about fiction? Not that I can think of off hand.

If you didn’t write, what would you do for work? I went to school to be a child psychologist, so probably that!

Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones? Sometimes… after four years, you build a pretty thick skin and learn to brush the bad ones off. To each their own and all that. 🙂 (Just don’t be a douche about it)

Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find? Sure do.

What’s one thing would you give up to become a better writer? Well, I think I’m *pretty* good and I know I’ll only get better with each book, so I guess I give up sleep? LOL It’d really be a benefit to not need sleep in general.

How long on average does it take you to write a book? 6-7 weeks with my partner. 3-4 months solo.

Your first four book in the Checkmate Series have hit the best selling lists,what are some of the things you think contributed to that success? I can’t say for sure, but I’d like to think the storyline was intriguing enough for readers to spread it by word of mouth, the cover is pretty hot (though I’m pretty bias), and we worked hard to really focus on being engaging and active on social media and meet bloggers and readers. We didn’t go into this half-ass. We gave it our all from the very start we decided to do this. Decided to invest in ourselves right from the start.

Can you give us some marketing tips that you use that have worked well for You? Just being yourself on social media, giving your readers glimpses of who you are, and showing your appreciation. Readers and bloggers make this possible and we’ll never forget that. We like giving back with giveaways and we make an effort to make a personal connection with our InstaFam and readers who message us. Aside from the social media part, you’re going to have to invest in yourself. That means pay for quality photos, cover designer, editor, etc. Pay for ads on multiple platforms and put yourself out there to find a wider spread audience. Don’t be afraid to ask. I messaged dozens of bookstagrammers on IG and I’d say 90% wrote back and signed up to read and review our books. The worst they can say is no, right?

I still don’t know who they are as they have chosen to remain private but have said that they will be attending a signing which means that eventually we will all find out who they are. I can’t wait to find out who this writing duo that I have come to love is. If you haven’t read anything by Kennedy Fox I definitely recommend their books. Their duets series continues to leave me wanting more and more from them.

ddd.jpg

 

Below is where you too can stalk this amazing author duo, find out where to purchase their books and check out their store. Let me tell you they have the coolest thing called the Kennedy Fox box I have one for each of their books. Comes with their signed Paperbacks, and a ton of swag.

A secret duo of romance authors team up under the USA Today Bestselling pseudonym, Kennedy Fox who share a love of You’ve Got Mail and The Holiday. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make your lady bits tingle and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you!

Instagram: instagram.com/kennedyfoxbooks | @kennedyfoxbooks
Twitter: twitter.com/kennedyfoxbooks | @kennedyfoxbooks
Facebook: facebook.com/kennedyfoxbooks/
Website: www.kennedyfoxbooks.com
Merch Shop: kennedyfoxbooks.com/shop
Email: kennedyfoxbooks@gmail.com
Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cngqYT

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Kennedy Fox ~ Author Spotlight”

  1. I really loved this is war and about to start this is love

    Btw..I just got to know Kennedy Fox is a pseudo name for two authors..WHUUUT!!!!!!?? I always thought it was one genius person.
    Am I living under a rock? for you I wouldn’t know they’re two people instead of one and I’m sorta embarrassed right now lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

